Which size 700c tyres for my 29er?

Londonscottish
Londonscottish Posts: 62
edited July 2014 in MTB general
Hi All,

Newbie here with my first question.

I run an old Rockhopper on 26 inch rims with 50mm Continental Top Contacts. Ran an old Diamond back on same rims & tyres and love that set up (London commuting and general urban stuff).

I now have a 2013 Trek Cobia 29er currently running Schwalbe Big Apple 2.15 inches which I hate (pavement suckers).

So....I want to buy a set of 700c Top Contacts for my Cobia.

I want to replicate the set up on my 26er as closely as possible with the caveat that I think the rims on the Cobia are much narrower than those on the Rockhopper (need to measure them tonight).

....given all that should I just go for the 700c 46mm (to get as close to the 50mm on my 26er) or 700c 42mm (as if I have a narrower rim they may balloon out and dropping the tyre width may give me the same depth)

Has anyone run these tyres (or equivalent) on a 29er?

Thans

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Rule of thumb is the tyres can go to the same width as the internal rim width, no less.

Only you know what suites you, personally I'd be going to something like a 38 or 32mm to reduce the drag,
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • The Rookie wrote:
    Rule of thumb is the tyres can go to the same width as the internal rim width, no less.

Only you know what suites you, personally I'd be going to something like a 38 or 32mm to reduce the drag,

Well I tried 1.3's on my 26er and found them very harsh - they lasted one commute. I guess that'll be 32mm in new money.

So i guess it's 42 or 46 for me.

Just making sure I wasn't missing something as the 29 rims look narrow to my naked eye and I was wondering if that was going to make the tyres balloon out and become "deeper".