Need help with mechanical brake fix/upgrade

sad_muso
sad_muso Posts: 16
edited July 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi All,

I am a bit of a beginner and last year I purchased my first MTB - a 2012 Kona Splice 29er (http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/kona-splice-29er-hardtail-bike-2012/rp-prod95400Kona%20Splice%2029er).

I have racked up 1,500 miles on it so far with one service, but recently the brakes have become truly awful so yesterday I took off the discs and pads, cleaned them up with disc brake cleaner and sanded the pads. I noticed slight improvement but they still won't stop me dead. My wife's such cheaper non disc brakes work much better than these!

I just googled my bike spec and this is what I've currently got:

Frame Material: Kona 7005 Aluminum Butted
F/D: Shimano Altus
R/D: Shimano Altus
Shifters: Shimano Rapidfire
Brake Calipers: ProMax Mechanical
Front Brake Rotor: ProMax 160mm
Rear Brake Rotor: ProMax 160mm
Brake Levers: ProMax Mechanical

I'm just after some 'what would you guys do?' advice. At the moment I think my options are:

1: Purchase better quality discs and pads and hope that makes a difference
2: Look to upgrade my brakes, but I don't have a bottomless budget so ideally wouldn't want to spend more than £100-£150 tops. The other issue here is that I believe I'd need to also upgrade my brake levers and I've got Shimano Altus ones which are integrated with the shifters - does that mean I'd need new shifters too I presume?
3: Jack it in and save up for a better bike with better components. The issue here is that I do actually like the frame of my bike and feel as though it could be good with a few upgrades. Would you guys say it's worth it? I don't have the money to splash out £3,000 on a bike sadly :(