Bar/controls angle and stem height

danchandler
danchandler Posts: 63
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
I've just bought a road bike after years of mtb and trials with the aim of losing some timber and getting fitter. Just after a bit of advice really, what is the best bar angle to run on a road bike. I can't seem to get comfortable with my hands in the hoods, so I've moved the bars up and the controls down a bit to try and get more comfortable, but as yet my hands still ache after a ride. I run 90 psi in the front, and 110 psi on the rear. I'm fairly sure I've got my seat at the right height and position, so it's not that. How much does stack height affect the position? Below is a picture of my setup
68374D53-32EC-4B76-ABE1-7B2A2E17415B_zps0cbbskfr.jpg

Any advice from the more seasoned cyclists among you would be greatly appreciated, as I'm a noob to all this
2011 carrera fury
2012 20" onza genesis trials bike
2014 carrera virtuoso road bike

Comments

• drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    Doesn't look too far off. May be try a couple of things.
    - move the saddle back a bit, this will put less weight on your arms/hands
    - the shifter bodies look a bit low, I like the flat part where you rest your hands to be slightly angled - a bit higher at the front. The tops of the bars should be level (they look level) so this means unwrapping the bar tape to move the shifters back/up a bit.
    WyndyMilla Massive Attack | Rourke 953 | Condor Italia 531 Pro | Boardman CX Pro | DT Swiss RR440 Tubeless Wheels
    Find me on Strava
  • ai_1
    ai_1 Posts: 3,060
    +1 what drlodge said

The best position is whatever stays comfortable. Comfortable on a long ride may not correspond exactly to your first guess depending on how the bars, tape and hood put pressure on your hands and wrists.