climbing MT Teide from Los Criatianos

wellerpaul
wellerpaul Posts: 3
edited February 2015 in Tour & expedition
looking for advice on topic above heading to Tenerife on 17th July,its my first time trying this climb never really cycled on holidays before.Can someone advise on food ,water,gels, the best gear ratio and best route from LosCristianos.I cycle approx 170klm a week averaging ~30klm ph over 2 spins,i'm not the best climber but i will suffer well,i dont mind the hardship but i dont want to kill myself by picking the wrong gear and route....any advice appreciated :D

Comments

• ai_1
    ai_1 Posts: 3,060
    I've climbed El Teide twice from El Medano. The upper section from Vilaflor will be the same route regardless. The lower section will be different. You could take a long approach by heading east to Granadilla first and then turning more directly up the mountain or go straight up via Arona. My route was from El Medano through San Isidro, Granadilla and Vilaflor.

From El Medano it's a 35km climb averaging about 6.5% if I remember correctly and with the steepest sections just below Granadilla and above Vilaflor being about 11%. I'm not a great climber either but on a long climb like this once you've got the gears you'll probably find a rhythm you can hold and just slog away. I enjoyed it both times in a masochistic sort of way!
    Gearing will depend on your fitness, riding style, weight, etc. I used a 50/34 compact and 11-28 cassette. I used that 28 sprocket quite a bit and personally wouldn't try this climb with less. The upper section of the descent is great fun. The road surface is good and but there's lots of turns so you will want good brakes. Lower down the surface is more mixed.