Shimano Cassette play / Freehub locknut adjustment problem

EasyToAssemble
EasyToAssemble Posts: 8
edited June 2014 in Workshop
Hello,

I know the cassette problems have been answered in one way or another, but I couldnt seem to find the answer to this particular issue. I'm a newbie when it comes to in-depth maintenance.

I recently noticed some play in my Shimano 8sp cassette, especially feeling the rear wheel "snaking" when coasting at junctions. I recently had the bearings repacked at a shop, and noticed the issue not long after.

I removed the cassette and attempted to adjust the freehub locknuts with cone-wrenches. This stopped the play in the freehub, but consequently meant the wheel ran far less smoothly, freewheeling to an abrupt stop when fastened onto the bike. The wheel seems true and centred when on the bike, but I did notice that when I loosened the quick-release, the wheel ran a bit better, as the locknuts were allowed to turn.

So:

- loosen the locknuts : cassette-play but better freewheeling

or

- tighten the locknuts: less cassette play but stiffer wheel movement

Is this a locknut adjustment issue, or do I need to get inside the hub? Hopefully I'm just overlooking something simple here. I did try adjusting the locknuts incrementally, but can't seem to find a middle-ground.

Would buying a new wheelset give me less grief, or is there a way to get these running a lot smoother?. My wheels (I have a BTwin Triban 3) are reknowned for being somewhat crap, so I'm ready for a slight upgrade if it simply means an increase in reliability (I've heard good things about the Fulcrum 7's, Mavic Aksiums, and Campagnolo Khamsins).

I intend to commute in bad weather once I get back on the road, so are hub-problems an issue that I would encounter regularly, even if I bought better wheels and looked after them?.

Comments

• John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698