First bike ride in 20 years...

seajays
seajays Posts: 331
edited June 2014 in Commuting chat
Well this week saw my first bike ride in 20 years (since I was a student at uni!). As our office moved location a couple of weeks ago, it is now a straight, 9km cycle ride to work on a dedicated cycle path (old railway line), so I decided to take the plunge and get a bike with the bike to work scheme.

On Wednesday when I got the bike, my 9 year old daughter gave me some refresher lessons up and down our street, just to reassure myself that I still knew how to cycle. Amazingly it all came flooding back quicker than I expected! :D

So my journey to work is now a nice 25 minute cycle - which beats the bus (with walking waiting was about 55 minutes)! 8)
Cannondale CAADX Tiagra 2017
Revolution Courier Race Disc '14
My Strava

Comments

• Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    Where the hell is the like button?

We need a like button.
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    6C8D118B-E22D-4D38-8E36-8580B8AE16AA-3818-00000470F753EC3C_zps59297a47.jpg
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • rower63
    rower63 Posts: 1,991
    beautiful
    Dolan Titanium ADX 2016
    Ridley Noah FAST 2013
    Bottecchia/Campagnolo 1990
    Carrera Parva Hybrid 2016
    Hoy Sa Calobra 002 2014 [off duty]
    Storck Absolutist 2011 [off duty]
    http://www.slidingseat.net/cycling/cycling.html
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    Won't be long before you find a slightly longer way to/from work and start clocking up some miles ;)
  • EKE_38BPM
    EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
    Where the hell is the like button?

We need a like button.
    +1
    Welcome to possibly the most expensive forum on the internet.