Buying a hardtail

qwerta
qwerta Posts: 13
edited June 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hello,
I am buying a new hardtail bike. I am a beginner, female, 25y/o, 169cm, 63kg. I am an ex-runner who can't run anymore due to injury. But I'm looking forward to some serious cycling now. My preference is climbing but I also enjoy technical descents (but without big jumps, I am not talking about downhill). I want not too heavy, good equipped bike for a reasonable price. I think I should look for hardtail XC, right?

So far, my favorite option is Giant XtC Composite 29er 1 2014 (or 2013 since it's a bit cheaper-around 160$ )... what do you think about it? The equippment is mostly SLX, is that good enough?

Thank you for your help.

ea63bm.png

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    It's a good bike. I would go for the 2013 model and save a bit.
  • qwerta
    I just edited my first post with 2013 vs 2014 bike compare. There are some differences with fork, saddle, handlebar, shifters?, rear derailleur, brakes? and wheels. I am not familiar with bike equipment so I have no idea which is better and why :oops: :)
    So, in your opinion, the improvements are not worth additional 160$? Thanks.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Fork is pretty bad on both and it's an odd size meaning you won't be able to sell it to buy a better fork. For the same reason it's difficult to find different length stems.
  • qwerta
    Why is it so bad, what's wrong with it?
    What about other components? For example, rear derailleur looks different on 2013 vs 2014, is 2014 version much better?
  • bartimaeus
    bartimaeus Posts: 1,812