It's my anniversary.

littledove44
littledove44 Posts: 871
edited June 2014 in Road beginners
I started cycling a year ago today. Of course I rode a bike as a kid, and very occasionally in later years, but basically I used an engine to get myself from A to B as soon as it was legally possible. In my case that was age 17, so I have spent 40 years doing my bit for global warming.

Over the last year I have pedalled a lot, and learnt a little less, but I thought it might be interesting to see how this compares to others. I have gone from being a complete newbie, to someone that now knows just a little bit more than nothing.

Here's my years education.

How much?
219 rides, so about 4 times a week. Basically every other day.
308 hours, so average ride time 1 hour 25 minutes.
7115km so average distance 32.5km
That makes an average speed of about 23kph
Climbed just under 70,000m
Longest ride 140km, biggest single continuous climb gained about 600m.

Cycling hurts.
When I started everything was painful. Breathing, pedalling, sitting, and recovering. The only thing that hurt less was going downhill so I tried to do more of that. This was achieved by starting at the top of a hill rolling to the bottom and phoning my wife with the car and bike rack. I now plan my rides around what hills I am going to climb. I also choose how fast to go up them, so the amount of suffering is optional. I am not fast uphill, but I can see steady speed improvements every month. Unfortunately this means I keep the effort up.

The pain doesn't go away. It's just different.
It's no longer the sharp pains from muscles that have been rudely awakened, it's now the bigger aches from overworked legs and lungs. Easier to deal with I think.

Flat or uphill is better than downhill.