Voodoo Bizango disc brakes rubbing

nathan2o14
nathan2o14 Posts: 9
edited June 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi guys, I'm relatively new to the world of mountain biking and recently bought myself a hard tail 29er. I have had the bike in twice to get looked at as there is a running sound coming from the rear disk brake when the wheel reaches certain positions. The pads were adjusted on first visit to shop and the second visit they bled the brakes.

Is this just a case of the brakes needing to bed in as they have told me in the shop or should I take it to another store to get looked at? I wouldn't mind picking up some tools and adjusting them myself if it was easy enough but I don't want to adjust anything if it is merely the brake pads need to wear in.

Any help or suggestions would be great. :?:

Thanks

Comments

• stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    Discs are never totally straight and there is often a wheel position where there will be a faint scraping noise its usually just a pad touching the disc lightly. If the wheel is spinning freely dont worry but if the brakes are dragging then they probably need tweaking and or a clean.

Plenty of vids on youtube and parktools.com is a good source of info. If they do need realigning its a job that just needs a 5mm allen key and a bottomless supply of patience.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • Great thanks for the tip. I don't think it's obscuring the wheel. I don't think they cleaned the pads so I might try removing them this evening and cleaning them.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Don't. Step away from the pads. They don't need cleaning.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    That ^
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Obscuring the wheel? You mean you can't see the wheel?