Tyre Combination (the theory ?)

simonB2014
simonB2014 Posts: 3
edited June 2014 in Cyclocross
Well hello, and yes I am a noob.
And yes, this section is 'Cyclocross', but I actually do 50/50 tarmac & off-road (heathland/woodland/gravel)

Anyway ...
I was looking into which tyre to put on my Tricross, when I read a comment elsewhere that hinted at putting different tyres on front & back.

My current 'problem' is the rear wheel slipping on loose uphill and/or mud, so was thinking of swapping out the rear tyre out for something with more bite.

Then I read something about needing the most 'aggressive' tread up front ... the reasoning being that if your front slips (assume sideways) then you are down.
Personally I don't think my riding is that fast or aggressive at the moment .. I've not experience this problem yet ;)

Still, it's all got me thinking ....
Something with good forward push on the rear, and something with studs up front ?

So ... is it common to use a combination of tyres ?
Is there a 'standard' approach to guide as the the best style of tyre for each ?

Would welcome your thoughts and/or experience......

Comments

• tgotb
    tgotb Posts: 4,714
    In racing, the most challenging terrain tends to be "off camber", which generally means riding or turning across steep slopes, which are often quite slippery. There's also a lot of hard cornering on slippery ground. In both cases you want your front wheel to be rooted, but a bit of sideways slippage on the rear wheel isn't necessarily a bad thing, depending on your personal riding style. Because it's a race, you also want to take any opportunity to minimise rolling resistance (so you don't automatically use the grippiest tyres unless you actually need them). Performance under braking tends not to be a major factor.