Shimano Deore M615 disc brake set up help !!

stantheman206
stantheman206 Posts: 106
edited June 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
I have recently treated myself to these brakes replacing my old Hayes El camino disc brakes.
I am having real trouble setting the front brake, the rear is perfect just the right amount of clearance, the front however is a different story. The caliper sits right on the disc and has real rubbing issues, it's a constant tick tick sound as the holes in the rotor go through the pads??? I have re set the pistons and re set the caliper positioning by slacking off the bolts, pulling the lever and then re tightening the bolts, no luck.

I have heard that bleeding some of the fluid may help but i'm no expert so what do people think. I would add that I will have to shorten the hoses as both a way too long so i'll have to re bleed them at some point any way.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Ps I have kept my old rotors (i think they are hayes) if this make any difference

Comments

• cobba
    cobba Posts: 282
    Inner pad rubbing?
    Outer pad rubbing?
    Both pads rubbing?
    Constant rub or intermittent rub?
    Rotor true?
  • jimothy78
    jimothy78 Posts: 1,407
    I have re set the pistons and re set the caliper positioning by slacking off the bolts, pulling the lever and then re tightening the bolts, no luck.

I've seen this technique recommended, but found that it's not very reliable - just get yourself into a position where you can see through the gaps between the rotor and pads and allign it by eye - allign at one bolt/end of the pad, tighten just enough to hold it (but still allow you to move the calliper at the other end), and then allign the other one independantly. When the gap is right at both ends, then gradually tighten both bolts to working tightness, checking the calliper doesn't move when you're doing it.