Buying a "beginner" road bike 101. Help!?

lindalonger
lindalonger Posts: 2
edited June 2014 in Road beginners
I've been riding a "Giant" brand hybrid bike for a couple of years. I "pimped" it up by getting thinner ( road ) tires, proper seat, and putting the handle bars in their lowest position. It weighs 33 pounds! I still manage an average speed of 22-25 mph over a 2 hour ride. I would like to buy a road bike but don't know where to begin. What are the important specs? I don"t want to go "high end" - maybe "medium end". I am 5 foot 11 inches tall with longer than average legs, tipping the scales at 200lbs. Any suggestions for makes, models, or important considerations I should keep in mind?
pbCpki
Note : My bad! I average 25 km / hour - about 15 mph!! I do a 52km ( 30 mile ) loop in about 2 hours. Thanks to Bob A. for making me think about that. And yes, it's a heavy bike. That's why I'm thinking I'd like to try a much lighter one.

Thanks.

Comments

• ai_1
    ai_1 Posts: 3,060
    Most important is that it fits!
    What's your budget?

After that there are 3 main elements: frame, groupset and wheels.
    I suggest you regard the frame and groupset (gears, cranks, brakes, etc) as permanent and the wheels as potentially upgradeable. Many bikes come with heavy wheels and cheap/poor tyres but these can be easily swapped out for something better later if you wish.
    There are 3 main brands of groupsets: Shimano, SRAM and Campagnolo. You'll see different people have different preferences but all three work well. Shimano is the most widespread.
    There are 4 normal arrangements for the gears at the front of the bike (this is the chainrings which the pedal cranks are attached to). Either a standard double, compact double, triple or "quasi-compact double". Either a compact or triple will be the best choice for most cyclists in my opinion.