The Importance of rest days

Strawberrymilk
Strawberrymilk Posts: 4
edited June 2014 in Road beginners
Hi all. I'm fairly new to road biking, and have been doing 13 miles a day for the last few weeks. It takes me about 45 minutes on mainly flat roads. I've been training in tae kwon do for 8 years and so already had relatively toned legs and am used to exercise. After the 13 miles I'm not out of breath and my legs aren't really that sore, however people who work out regularly are telling me to always take rest days throughout the week however I'm not sure I need to at the moment? I'm fairly ignorant about cycling so was wondering if I could get any opinions from more experienced cyclists? Should I do longer rides but less days of the week or something? How far should I be able to go in what time? If it helps I'm female, 18 years old, 5'9 and weigh 13 stone. I'm not bothered by the length of the ride as I enjoy exercise

Comments

• simon_masterson
    simon_masterson Posts: 2,740
    As part of a rigorous training regime, rest days allow recuperation and muscle recovery. If that's not what you're doing, just rest if you're tired - you don't need protein shakes if you do a few reps with the 1kg handweights a couple of times a week.

But train for the event you're trying to win - what are you trying to achieve?
  • daxplusplus
    daxplusplus Posts: 631
    What are your trying to achieve?

Ride quicker? Longer?

Go out on a club ride in the fast group?

Do a 130 mile sportive?

From there you can start to plan stuff.

The need for rest days will then become more obvious.
    Sometimes you're the hammer, sometimes you're the nail

strava profile
  • Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022