Vilano shadow VS gravity liberty 1, which one should I get?

nasty_bike
nasty_bike Posts: 6
edited May 2014 in Road buying advice
I am new to road biking and would like to purchase a bike, but my budget is $450 tops. Which bike would you go with? If you would like to recommend another bike please do! My only requirement is that is has STI or similar integrated shifters (not down tube). Thanks :)

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Never heard of either. Some links might help...
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,178
    are you in usa? most, though not all br people are probably uk-based, so may not be anyone who knows them

ay $450 i'm guessing these are likely to be basic aluminium framed bikes with 7 or 8-speed groupset, branded for the local retailer, it's common practice in many markets

depends where you're based, but at least in uk you'd expect to get much better value buying a secondhand bike
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • iga
    iga Posts: 155
    I've not heard of either bike as they're not sold in the UK but a quick look at the specs suggests the gravity liberty 1 is the better specced bike - it has more name branded components, decent tyres, carbon fork etc.
    FCN 7
    Aravis Audax, Moulton TSR
  • nasty_bike
    sorry, i am based in the USA and here are the links.

vilano shadow
    http://www.amazon.com/Vilano-Shadow-Road-Bike-Integrated/dp/B00DY0QN7M

gravity liberty 1
    http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/gravity/liberty_1.htm
  • nasty_bike
    I don't want to sound annoying, but could I get some help?
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,178
    iga responded

i'd agree that of the two, the gravity is the better spec, i'd still recommend looking for a better secondhand one though

like i said, it's unlikely anyone with direct experience of these is on this forum
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • nasty_bike
    thanks.