Carbon wheels and braking

BrandonS
BrandonS Posts: 17
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
I'm new to carbon wheels, so forgive me if this is completely dumb, but my back brake is squeeling really bad like a firework when it warms up; to the point people are looking in their rearview mirrors. Once it cools down it goes away. I haven't had it back out, but have since tightened the pivot bolt that goes through the frame, cleaned the rims with acetone, and used sand paper to clean off the pads.

I set the pads up by sticking a credit card between the pad and wheel on the side that faces the back of the bike to give them toe. Is this an acceptable manner or should I leave them flat against the rim and tighten them. The pads are SwissSTops Yellow that came with the wheels. I don't feel that I'm braking exceptionally hard or dragging my brags. At least not more so than than someone that would be more justifiable in running these wheels (aka not recreational riders like me). I don't believe I really braked at anything over mid 20's.

Judging from the pictures am I braking wrong and melting my pads or is this normal? Do I need to "wear in" the braking surface on new wheels?

i-Shb2XQv-X2.jpg
i-BBjFMhq-X2.jpg

Comments

• BrandonA
    BrandonA Posts: 553
    I don't know about Easton rims and pads but I have Mavics. It is known that Mavic have a wearing in period during which the carbon rims need to get covered with a bit of break pad to become most efficient and stop the squeaking.

After a few 100 miles mine stopped making noises.
  • BrandonS
    BrandonS Posts: 17
    Do you leave all those streaks build up then on the braking surface?
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,129
    cf rims do make more noise, hard to know if what you're getting is unusual without hearing it