Building a full-suspension mountain bike.

samhep
samhep Posts: 7
edited May 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi,
My name is Sam. I am new to this forum.

I am looking to convert my hardtail mtb into a full-sus/downhill. I need some advice on doing this. I am a beginner with mountain bikes, I know the basics but not each detail and this is what I am struggling with.
I currently have a Felt Six 60 2013 which is a hardtail mountain bike for around £550 when it first came out in 2013, now the bike is significantly cheaper after being replaced by the 2014 model. Basically, I want to upgrade to a full-suspension mountain bike. I am struggling with what parts I should buy. I don't want to buy a separate bike, I want to build the bike using as many of the parts I can from my Felt Six 60. Obviously, I will mainly need a new frame and forks but I am unsure what frame/forks to get whether my other parts (wheels, brakes, cranks etc) are compatible. I'm not looking to spend a fortune, under £350 for the frame and under £250 for the forks.

Just to summarize, I want a full suspension frame which is compatible with the parts I'll list below and I want some good, cheap forks. If this isn't possible, I want the frame and forks with changing the least amount of current parts I have now. I don't mind if the parts are used, as long as they're good condition. Finally, it sounds picky but I preferably need a drink holder or a place to put one. :D

Thanks in Advance
Sam

Bike - Link contains bike specs - http://www.bestbikeproducts.com/m1b36s2p3707/FELT-Six-60-2013/RS_GB/14786

Comments

• felix.london
    felix.london Posts: 4,067
    find out all the measurements for your current bike (BB, seat tube, drop-outs, front mech etc) and then find a suitable frame & fork within your budget.
    "Why have that extra tooth if you're not using it?" - Brian Lopes

Votec V.SX Enduro 'Alpine Thug' 2012/2013 build

Trek Session 8
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774