Part fell off bike (I think!!!) and dont know where its from

miketaff
miketaff Posts: 4
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
Hi. Apologies to all for being a complete noob when it comes to road bikes.

Long and short of it is that I have recently moved to a road bike from a Mountain bike after breaking its chain and have been absolutely converted. I haven't use the mountain bike since.

Today however I was riding home from work in the pouring rain, and was approaching a junction and went to change from the big cog on the front to the little one (apologies for terms!!!!) - The chain seemed to jam and crunch and then there was suddenly a loud "ping!" and i heard the clatter of something bouncing away from the bike. The chain was then moving freely and i made the turn, but turned round to investigate what had come off the bike. The part i found is show in the pictures below. The "head" is about an inch in diameter and is fairly heavy at 100g. The part the screw goes into is rubber. upon seeing the part I thought something catastrophic had come off the bike. So at the side of the road I inspected the bike for a good 10 mins and for the life of me I cannot see anywhere where this part has come from. I carried on (slowly) - gears worked fine, made a climb up the hill near me - no issues. Am I being a complete idiot and am missing something obvious???? Or do you think this is road debris that has somehow sprung up into my chain then come loose? Thanks for any help - Don't worry - I am not easily offended so if you think I am a complete idiot please do so freely!!!!

BTW the bike is a GIANT TCR 3 2012.

image-1.jpeg
image1.jpeg

Comments

• simonj
    simonj Posts: 346
    Ha ha, I bet this has fallen off something other than your bike. Looks a bit old and rusty, does the rest of your bike look old and rusty like this? I'm suspecting not! :mrgreen:
  • craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    Picked up by your wheels and chucked into the chain methinks
  • miketaff