Birmingham Bikeathon 2014

gadgets
gadgets Posts: 100
edited February 2015 in Sportives/audaxes/training rides
Anyone signed up for this event? It is scheduled for September 21. 2014.

Registration is through this site: http://leukaemialymphomaresearch.org.uk/event/birmingham-bikeathon

I signed up for the 100 miler as a personal challenge now that I have crossed over the 50 years old mark and also lose some weight along the way (currently at 90kg). I just started training as the longest ride I have ever done was a very slow 25 miler. Essentially the plan is to build up the distance every Sunday and commute to work by bike starting in July (9.5 miles each way).

Hoping there are others from this board that will be doing the same ride.
Synapse Disc 3 Ultegra '14/CAADX 5 105 '11

Comments

• stumpym4
    stumpym4 Posts: 216
    could be up for this, maybe the 52 miler, ive rode over 100 miles once and almost killed me so probably stay with the 52 !
    Is there a minimum amount you need to raise to ride this as im not really one for asking people to sponsor me and feel cheeky ... dont mind the odd close family member but other than that !

Edit : ... ive just found the answer so no worries ... may see you there
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    On One 853 single speed
    Pinnacle Arkose 2 - cross bike
    Pinnacle Ramin 3 plus - Bike packing bike
    Cube attain GTC Pro road bike - more relaxed road bike
    Giant scr1 road bike
  • Downward
    Downward Posts: 179
    52 mile sounds doable for me.
  • awallace
    awallace Posts: 191
    Im hoping to do it. My mate has signed up and now my running plans have changed this will be my biggie of the year I reckon. If the roads are like the mad march hare sportive it should be nice.
  • gadgets
    gadgets Posts: 100