Hit by a car. Your opinion

explosivetom
explosivetom Posts: 6
edited May 2014 in Commuting general
I've been cycling on the road for about 4 months now and apart from a time a girl decided to move into the cycle lane about 5 feet in front of me, today was the first time I've had any kind of accident. Today i was cycling along a road in the centre of manchester which is small going around 10-15 mph an a hour, with a car infront of me also going ten to fifteen miles an hour that had just overtaken me. Basically the accident happened when the car went to turn left into a minor road. I only saw a signal about two seconds before the driver turned into the corner, which lead me to hit the side of the car and come flying off my bike. I managed not to hit my head though and get away with a few scraps. I swear that the indicator only went only a few feet before the corner not giving me time to react, but i suppose my question is how much am i at fault at this ? is there any tips for avoiding this kind of accident and is it worth reporting it to the police, as afterwards the passenger got out the car told me that she had her signal on and so i said it was my fault and left it at that. I did this because i start my uni exams tomorrow and i didn't want to hang around for ages.
Thank you very much for any replies :)
Edit - sorry forgot to mention, i saw the car parked up around the corner afterwards so i wrote down the license plater

Comments

• Sounds like their fault to me. If they just overtook you they should have known you were there. Since you went into the side rather than the back that would indicate they turned across you..?
  • Yeah i feel I was turned into as well. I was just unsure as the passenger talked to me he was quite arrogant and it made me feel it was my fault that I missed the indicator and failed to slow down
  • davis
    davis Posts: 2,506