Avid post mount adapter needed

fd3typer2
fd3typer2 Posts: 5
edited May 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all,

I had Elixir 7 brakes front and rear on my bike, both post mount with 180mm discs. I have just bought a pair of Elixir Trail 9 brakes which came with 200 and 180mm discs. Today I decided to install the callipers on the existing discs, thinking that they would be a straight swap (I didn't think about ordering and post point adapters in advance for the larger disc).

After mounting them, I noticed that the pads sit 5mm outside the edge of the disc, as though the disc is too small or the adapter is spaced out too far.

The instructions say I should be using a 20p adapter for the 180mm discs, and a 40p adapter for a 200mm disc.

Sorry I'm new to this and it's all quite confusing, can anyone tell me specifically where I can buy the appropriate adapter for the 180mm rear disc, and for the new 200mm front disc.

I've attached a few photos which might make a little more sense!

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • nicklouse
    No the big question are your brakes CPS fitting or standard?

I guess standard.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
  • fd3typer2
    Looking at Page 54 now..

As the new callipers sit 5mm out, yes it would appear my mounts are "Standard"

But the original callipers were using the CPS washers. Wouldn't that mean the mounts are CPS??

Anyhow, does this mean I simply do away with the washers?

Thanks
  • cobba
    cobba Posts: 282
    Avid makes CPS calipers and non CPS/Standard calipers.

Adapters aren't CPS specific, you can use them with CPS calipers and non CPS/Standard calipers.

CPS calipers need the CPS washers between the caliper and the post mount or between the caliper and the adapter.