Help me!

MrSweary
MrSweary Posts: 1,699
edited May 2014 in Commuting chat
Ok, finally exchanged on our house so I will hopefully be swapping the joys of the SW London commute in favour of coming in from Beckenham. A few extra miles which is good and a few more hills which is actually good but seems bad at the moment!

Anyway, to get to the point I'm here to ask for any advice on a new route to work. I work near Green Park and I'm after any tips at all for commuting in from the south east - routes, blackspots, things to avoid etc. I usually set off for work at about 6.30am which definitely makes a big difference to traffic on the current commute. I've been doing this sort of thing for quite a few years now and I'm pretty confident on the bike and not phased by traffic.

Obviously a key concern is having plenty of SCR action and hapless nodders to scalp... :D

Commuting Chat Hive Mind GO!
Kinesis Racelite 4s disc
Kona Paddy Wagon
Canyon Roadlite Al 7.0 - reborn as single speed!
Felt Z85 - mangled by taxi.

Comments

• asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    You are moving from SW to SE; it's the SCR desert
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • mtb-idle
    mtb-idle Posts: 2,179
    i was thinking similar, normally peeps want to move out of SE and into SW.

Oh well, takes all sorts and all that. the natural route appears to be through Penge (I can still remember the look of absolute incredulity on the face of a graduate at work when he learned that I knew someone who actually lives in Penge: the wife's cousin) up Croxted Road, South Lambeth Road and over Vauxhall Bridge
    FCN = 4
  • HamishD
    HamishD Posts: 538