New Flat bar road bike or Hybrid for Commuting £500-1000

cyclinghaggis
cyclinghaggis Posts: 40
edited May 2014 in Commuting chat
I've been riding to work on a Revolution Courier for the last 3 years but I'm contemplating upgrading to something a bit nicer/quicker for my commute. I'm pretty much set on another similar flat bar bike. Whatever it is needs to take full length mudguards and a light rack. Price wise I'm looking to spend £500-1000 and ideally should be on sale at Edinburgh cycle co-op as my work scheme uses them.

I've been considering the following options :-

Focus Planet 2.0 '14
http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/product ... net-2-0-14

Cannondale Bad Boy 6 '14
http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/product ... d-boy-6-14

Focus Arriba 3.0 Disc Acera '14
http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/product ... c-acera-14

Specialized Sirrus Comp Disc '14
http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/product ... mp-disc-14

Whyte Portobello '14
http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/product ... tobello-14

I've test ridden a Whyte Portobello previously and quite like it. Wondering if it's worth the extra to upgrade to the Cambridge/Stirling? The Focus planet is pricey but tempting though I'm a little unsure about the belt drive and whether it would be reliable or fixable if it were to go wrong. The Focus Arriba seems like a good spec for the price. Specialized frame/finishing kit is good but seems, on paper at least, a bit poorly spec'd for the price. Cannondale Bad Boy seems like a worthy alternative to the Whyte bikes.

Any thoughts on the above? Does anyone own any of them and how are you finding it?
When considering upgrading equipment to make you faster remember the words of Lance Armstrong...
"It's NOT About The Bike"

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Just to clarify, a 'flat bar road bike' is a hybrid, a road bike has drops (only).

Check out also the Boardman Hybrids, better specced and/or cheaper than all of those.