Climbing Tips for Majorca

Tjgoodhew
Tjgoodhew Posts: 628
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
I am off to Majorca on Sunday and have two days of cycling booked from the South East of the island. I am staying in Cala D'Or and have hired a Canyon so looking forward to seeing what all the fuss is about with these bikes.

I have two routes planned. The first is going north along the coast and then inland. Nothing too tricky and a few gradual climbs over 70 miles.

The second route is a bit more tricky and I am planning to climb San Salvador and La Randa.

The thing is I have very little climbing experience as there just arent the hills around me. I am comfortable riding the short hills close to home but nothing in comparison to the these two. The gradient doesnt look too bad but riding 6% over 3 miles is a lot different to riding 10% for 0.2 miles !!!

Any advice on what to expect and any tips on how to tackle them and should I have any concerns ??
Cannondale Caad8
Canyon Aeroad 8.0

http://www.strava.com/athletes/goodhewt

Comments

• rc856
    rc856 Posts: 1,144
    Is your general fitness/climbing ok?
    If so, with the correct gearing, you'll be fine.
    The longest day we had was 85 miles with 8,500ft of climbing...climbing the Soler amongst others.
    Sa Calobra was the hardest...the others were just long but we just got into a tempo and paced ourselves.

You'll love it. Great place.
  • markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    I managed it with little training. Just take your time and stop and have a rest.

I would appreciate feedback on the Canyon place as I'm wanting to hire from there later in the year but not sure what bike to get and getting info out of them is like pulling teeth.
  • curto80
    curto80 Posts: 314
    Hello. I'm in a lovely hotel in Cala D'or right now. I have a canyon aeroad on my balcony and am climbing Salvador tomorrow. Needless to say I'll report back..,
    Rose Xlite Team 3100 Di2
    Kinesis Tripster ATR
    Orro Oxygen