Long term quality and durability of cycling clothes

odessouky
odessouky Posts: 264
edited May 2014 in Road buying advice
I'm relatively new to cycling, and VERY new to all the lycra stuff, as in jerseys, shorts, top shells etc...

I am asking all the veteran cyclists about which make/brand has lasted the longest with them?

I'm liking the GORE models a lot, especially the long sleeve jerseys, I usually buy a mountain bike tight jersey, as the road designs are RIDICULOUSLY tight, and in my chest/torso size, the arms would probably reach the floor....

:)

All my kit, like bib shorts, base layer, jersey etc are washed after every bike ride, which is like 2-3 times a week, plus all weekends, so was wondering which brands hold out longer in good shape with all this riding/sweating/washing...

thanks

Comments

• gabriel959
    gabriel959 Posts: 4,227
    Gore is pretty good and so is Assos IME.
    x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
    Commuting / Winter rides - Jamis Renegade Expert
    Pootling / Offroad - All-City Macho Man Disc
    Fast rides Cannondale SuperSix Ultegra
  • mattsccm
    mattsccm Posts: 409
    Slightly lower down the price range I have found Wiggles own brand, DHB to last well. I have some bib 3/4 that are about 7 years old which get worn about 150 days a year. Looking a bit shiny on the arse and the odd stitch has come undone but that has to be good value.
  • odessouky
    When I was referring to GORE, I meant in like them, but by no means can I buy more than one or two at the max....

They are very expensive....

Was hoping on advice on the lower end of the price range...

Tenn outdoors, altura, dhb etc....do they last?
  • rickeverett
    rickeverett Posts: 988
    Watch out

Just because some brands are highly expensive doesn't mean they are any good.

So far DHB have been the best durability vs cost wise. The poorest for me was Perl Izumi - expensive and falls apart.
    Gore are good but expensive.
  • greasedscotsman
    greasedscotsman Posts: 6,962