Cycling Shoes - Help with buying first pair

BLW
BLW Posts: 96
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
Hello,

Following on from a previous post, would anyone be kind enough to suggest/recommend me a pair of cycling shoes.

Bike is a Boardman Sport FI with Wellgo Platform 9/16’’ pedals, I’ve removed the toe clips (the plastic part) but I’ve still left the triangular section on the pedal (sorry, I’m not very technical or down with the correct lingo…bare with I'm still learning) anyway I’ve been using my trainers for the time being which are not causing any problems, but I’ve read that one of the benefits of a cycling shoe is the hard sole and obviously designed for pedaling ....not running, but I’m not ready yet for clip in shoes n peds, I saw a friend forget to take his out when he stopped and I can imagine me doing the same to be honest.

So I’d like a pair of road cycling shoes that don’t clip in or can I buy a pair that would be suitable for both my road bike and my MTB? (I know the style and trend varies between road and MTB shoes) but I just wondered if there was any out there that would look ok and work well for either perhaps?

I'm not after a an expensive pair, I'll treat myself to a decent pair if I become worthy of them, for the time being I'm just enjoying cycling solo and getting into to doing some sportives etc, so cheap and cheaful will do for now.

Thank you :)

Oh, I’m a lady, size 5 but I’m not into girly looking kit, prefer black/white/grey colours etc

Comments

• Schoie81
    Schoie81 Posts: 749