hi a total newbie but a few questions

dazaster
dazaster Posts: 3
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
ive just got this bike http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165710 and before i get the "its crap etc etc" :lol: its only so i can try the sport of duathons, my plans if i enjoy it and want to take it more serious would be looking to get a better bike in a year or so. ive seen very average review with the tyres and punctures. am i correct in thinking upgrading the tyres to "all condition armadillo 700c road tyre" would be a good move to limit the chance of a puncture? or is they a better tyre? and as the tyres on now are 700 23c sized, and would i get a 700 28c tyre on the same rim? or would i need a new wheel? and as ive not used clipped pedals before could you recommend a decent cheap pedal if i need to change them..

Comments

• markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    It's not a terrible bike and you've got the right idea about changing the tyres first.

Flats are something you deal with so I wouldn't worry too much just have a repair kit and spare tube. I would personally recommend Continental 4 Seasons as a good all round tyre.

700c is the wheel size and 23 is the width of the tyre. If you can fit wider depends less on the rim and more on clearance under your brakes and chain stays etc. you'll probably be able to fit 25mm.

Do you mean clipped or clipless? Personally I would recommend getting some M520 pedals and suitable shoes such as M088.

Oh and stop all that running lark; don't you know it's really bad for you ;)
  • Its not a shit bike as such its just most of us ride full carbon race bikes and it miles away and we merely label them but we all started with something like it.