Mileage to expect from a used cassette.

Bjorn05
Bjorn05 Posts: 6
edited May 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hello everyone,
I'm new to cycling and am planning to do a low to medium difficulty 300km trek and have come across a used Rockrider 5.0 for 50€ (approx $70). I've examined the quality of the bike (frame, tires, rims, bottom bracket, headset, dérailleur, etc) and found that it's in really good quality for such a price.
However, I've been wondering how many Km's to expect from its Shimano Alivio chainring set and the 8speed cassette. I'd be more than happy if you could help me with your opinion on this matter.
Thanks in advance! :)

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Nothing.

Chain needs replacing as that is dead and a new chain will most likely skip on that cassette.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Bjorn05
    Thanks a lot to both of you. Given the fact that I'm in a financially tough situation, would you recommend cleaning and lubing the chain as a solution?
  • iLukeKendall
    iLukeKendall Posts: 160
    That chain is beyond recovery by the looks of it. The cassette also looks pretty well rusted. You could replace both components which might set you back about £30-£40 for both, and by the time you add that to the cost of the second hand bike, you may as well buy the new bike for a little bit more money.
    Whyte 29-CS • Canyon Ultimate • #CCWMTB • Strava Profile
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    Cassette and chain are deader than a dead thing. You could with lots of time and effort make it just about useable for a short pedal to the shops but a 300km ride forget it you will probably end up walking 290kms.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Bjorn05 wrote: