Stiff neck

funkyg
funkyg Posts: 68
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
Hey. Noob here.
I've had an MTB for the last few years which I've ridden with no problems.
Now I have a road bike I seem to be getting a stiff neck after about an hour. Everything else is really comfy, even the saddle, but not the neck. I found I was lifting my head a lot while wearing my glasses, so now ride in my contact lenses, and I also raised the stem both of which seemed to help a little but not perfect.
Do I need to try and let my body adapt, or do I try look up more with my eyes than my move my head?
Cheers.
GT Avalanche 3.0 Hydro
Ridley R6 EL

Comments

• beski
    beski Posts: 542
    Are you wearing an MTB style helmet with a peak, if so removing the peak may help.
    Giant Defy 4 2014
    GT Avalanche Expert 2006
    Specialized Hardrock 1989
  • funkyg
    Yes I do have the peak on, I'll try it without.
    Thanks.
    GT Avalanche 3.0 Hydro
    Ridley R6 EL
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    Your neck will slowly adapt to the road position - if it's really hurting then by all means change your position, but in the end you'll get used to it...
  • ai_1
    ai_1 Posts: 3,060
    My neck limits my position on a roadbike too. The rest of my body seems fine with a lower more aero position than I currently ride (I have about 6omm saddle to bar drop) but my neck is slow to cooperate. I have gradually increased the saddle to bar drop over the past couple of years and my neck has adapted but I'm not sure that will continue. My current position is fine for most of the riding I do but I'd like to go lower using clip-on extensions for duathlons/triathlons. Unfortunately I don't seem to be able to sustain a "good" position without neck problems.

Your neck is likely to slowly adapt as Slowbike said but it may take a while and may never get as flexible as you'd like.