Which category do I fit in?

MTB noob
MTB noob Posts: 272
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
I am a newbie to road cycling (only about 500km on my Cannondale) and mainly I do solo riding across the south coast of West Sussex. I have done a couple of recent rides (only 30km) with the local cycling club and apart from sticking out like a sore thumb; loose clothes, BMX helmet flat pedals and downtube shifters, I can keep up with them.

Despite this, I don't know whether I can do any rides of substantial length i.e. a sportive. I am trying to get my stamina up to scratch but I still don't know if I can make it before the time limit and embarrass myself. I don't want to go into something too out of my depth!

The question is how do I know where I fit in with the road bike crowd and know my ability so I don't make stupid costly decisions?

My god road cycling is scary! I'm going to keep my relaxing rides to the trails where everything is green, fast and less crazy.

Comments

• dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,222
    edited May 2014
    Hi and welcome,

Buy yourself some closer fitting cycle clothing, Jersey and Shorts with padded seat, they will be more aerodynamic and less energy sapping than your baggy clothing. Consider using clip in pedals like shimano spd, do you use a cycle computer so that you can log your rides for time, distance, avrg. speed etc.? This can be helpful for gauging your training improvements over time.

Try and increase your ride distances and duration as you build up your stamina and endurance. Look online at the sportive events listings, choose a distance and plan a circular route in your local area to test yourself. Have you joined that cycling club you mentioned? Riding with other experienced riders can help you develop your road riding skills.

The main thing is to ride and build up your base miles and don't worry about fitting into a particular category. If you want to do sportives and aren't sure which distance to do start off with a short 35m route.