Tubular repair

wilhay
wilhay Posts: 12
edited May 2014 in Workshop
I was unfortunate to nick the sidewall on my training Grifo tubular (cross)..
It is less than 3mm long but went through the wall and put a 1mm nick in the latex inner.
The sealant didnt seal so I endured a walk of shame home from the woods.

I am new to tubs , Any ideas what is best to get this back running? it seems a right pain to take the whole tub off. is it possible to peel back that section, enough to access the tape and stitching . , do the fix, then re glue the tub.?

Has anyone done this or am I asking for trouble ?

Wil

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    Sounds like a nasty... you need to have it professionally repaired. It's going to cost you 20 quid or so. You can try yourself, but there is no shortcut and it's a lot of work
    left the forum March 2023
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Any recommendations for people who repair tubs? Thank you.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • mattsccm
    mattsccm Posts: 409
    Theory won't agree but in practice you can repair anything in a tub that you would in a tube. I have done all sorts. It cost nothing much to try does it?