Bike light countdown - what do you use?

Ringpeace
Ringpeace Posts: 105
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
As title really.

Sadly nothing annoys me more than people riding bikes in full high viz, helmeted up but without using lights.

As a driver I don't notice high viz half as much as I do a decent flashing light. Even if you do decide to go all ninja. Although the ever increasing band of ninjas without lights is getting out of control IMO. There's high viz and then there's NO viz. Tools.

Anyway, I have worked my way through various lights from Smart and Moon - the Cateye's I have owned are completely redundant.

I own a Smart Lunar 25, 35, 1/2 Watt rear, 1 Watt R1, 1 Watt R2, 1 Watt R2 USB rechargeable, Moon XP300 and have just taken delivery of a Moon Meteor 200 lumens.

Can be had for £29.97 at Amazon or Tredz http://www.amazon.co.uk/Moon-Meteor-Front-Light-Titanium/dp/B009CU4UB4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1399128425&sr=8-1&keywords=moon+meteor

The Smart rears, all of them are very good although I find my R1 my "go to" light. I still use the Smart front lights (as I have a load of them) and they are fine on lit roads on flash. To actually see on unlit paths they are utterly useless unless you want to dawdle at under 10 MPH.

The Moon lights are incredible. Especially the Meteor, for it's size, that I have just picked up. Makes the Smart front lights look like £ shop specials.

In summary - what lights do you use - and why? How much did you pay, what are the mounts, battery life, longevity like etc?

Please note that this is only riding road and unlit paths. This is not a showdown over off road lights - especially the ones that require frame mounted external battery packs!

Cheers

Comments

• arran77
    arran77 Posts: 9,260
    I use Cree XML T6 mountain bike torch lights, 1000 lumens each and only £29 on eBay for a pair of them, don't see the problem with 'mountain bike' lights myself :wink: