Flat pedals for road bike - suggestions

BikeAndEarly
BikeAndEarly Posts: 28
edited May 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi

I am in the process of building a bike from scratch. The bike is a Specialized Roubaix with full Ultegra components including wheels. My friends and the guys at the bike shop are recommending the Ultegra SPD SL. I cannot tell you how much of a mistake that is for me:
1. I live in a very hilly area (very)
2. I want to use the bike in town and on Sportives
3. I am new to the world of cycling (after a long break)

Please can you recommend something sensible that can put the power down and does not weigh a tonne?

I am thinking:
a. MKS Sylvan
b. Token Track Pedals TK457TM
c. MKS Nuevo
d. Speedplay Drillium

I will start off with flats and then put SPD SL on my winter bike to see if I can learn how to use them after I gain confidence in riding the local roads/hills and getting comfortable with bicycles again.
I will cry if I fall (and I will) on my carbon bike plus if I fall in front of a bus my bike will be ruined so I cannot have that :)

Thank in advance

Comments

• Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    Do you have any idea how much more difficult hills are on flats? SPD SL are a good choice. Time Xpresso are even easier to clip in. If you really think you're going to have trouble (you won't) then just get plain old SPDs, but for the love of God stay away from flats.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • fatdaz
    fatdaz Posts: 348
    I have Shimano PD-A530 pedals on the bike I use for messing around with the family on. These are flat on one side and SPD (not SPD-SL) on the other. I can ride with normal shoes if going out somewhere with the family or use SPDs if I'm going on a longer or quicker ride with my son (now 10). This could be a good compromise for you to get you introduced to clip ins. They aren't very light however
  • oxoman