First Sportive Ride

BLW
BLW Posts: 96
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
Afternoon folks,

Entered my first Sportive Ride which is this Saturday, bit of a lastminute.com decision but I thought what the heck, it’s the Pock Pedal (East Yorks), I was umming and arrring as to which class to enter, it was either the midi (60 miles) or the mini (25 miles), certainly not the mega (can’t remember what that was to be fair off hand but it would be way out of my depth), I do about 18 miles twice a week (on both the MTB and the now the RB) but seen as it’s my first one as I’m a newbie to all this road biking and the fact that I’ve never been to a cycle event before) I thought it would be the most sensible thing to do, short and sweet but a nice taste to what it’s all about, plus I’m only just getting used to my new wheels as I only got it last weekend.

Is it ok for me to wear my trainers as opposed to buying a pair of cycling shoes?, I am going to get some in due course but I won’t have chance really before Saturday and I’d rather shop around and not rush into buying the first/cheapest pair I clap my eyes on, my trainers are comfortable and they don’t slip off the pedals, so both safety and comfort wise they tick the boxes (I removed the toe clips/cadge from my pedals) but will it be ‘frowned upon’ if I’m wearing trainers? or do a quite a few opt for trainers rather than cycling shoes? when just doing these sportive/leisure rides?

I will fit my seat bag on from my MTB (with tool kit/spare tyres/map etc) along with my drink bottle and a little snack but for 25 miles, I really don’t think I need anything else but then I wouldn’t really know, any useful tips or words of wisdom for a someone doing their first sportive ride?

Thank You :)

Comments

• drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    Wear what you would normally wear for the distance, and enjoy it :D 25 miles may take you a couple of hours, sounds like you've given it plenty of thought