Freebies thrown in when buying a bike?

South Tyne Rider
South Tyne Rider Posts: 76
edited May 2014 in Road buying advice
Hello guys

I know this sounds a bit tacky, but I've never spent as much as £1150 on a bike before....

I work in retail management and I hate it when people ask for a cheeky discount here and there, but what does everyone think? If you were to spend £1150 on a bike, would you expect a lock or speedometer thrown in? :wink:

Comments

• arran77
    arran77 Posts: 9,260
    For that much money I'd expect more than a speedo :wink:

A shop local to me would give you enough points to get a whole load of accessories....

http://www.pedalon.co.uk/acatalog/
    "Arran, you are like the Tony Benn of smut. You have never diluted your depravity and always stand by your beliefs. You have my respect sir and your wife my pity" :lol:

seanoconn
  • Thanks mate - what percentage of the total would you expect in freebies? Just out of interest? If the bike was £1150, how much would you expect? £100's worth?
  • arran77
    arran77 Posts: 9,260
    At the shop I gave a link for it would work out a lot more than £100.

For a bike costing about £1,100 you'd get about 21 points, the link below is the selection of stuff you can choose from....

http://www.pedalon.co.uk/acatalog/podium_points.php
    "Arran, you are like the Tony Benn of smut. You have never diluted your depravity and always stand by your beliefs. You have my respect sir and your wife my pity" :lol:

seanoconn
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I would expect at least 10% of bikes value in accessories if I were paying list price for it.
    If it was already discounted or I was getting interest free credit then thats a different story.

I say expect only because I have never paid list price for a bike without a sweetener (unless financed) so would feel reluctant to do it.
    If it was a nice enough bike I would though I guess.
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    Carbonator wrote: