Thoughts on a Trek 5500 OCLV

Toror
Toror Posts: 4
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi everyone,

I'm new here as I'm just getting into cycling. I was looking around for a first bike and stumbled across the following one for 450GBP (or 800CHF in Switzerland where I currently live). With my limited knowledge I think it is an ok offer, but I wanted to see if anyone with a bit more experience could help me out !

The specifications I have:

Trek 5500 OCLV
Full Shimano Dura-ace 9 speed
Chainrings: 53/39
Wheels: Mavic
Tire: Michelin Pro3
Saddle: Italia Gel Flow
Pedals: Look

Oh and here is a picture: http://www.anibis.ch/uploads/006/726/23 ... svCw_2.jpg

And if you just have some general advice for my search for a first bike, I'll gladly take it :D
For example, if there is anything I should particularly pay attention to when buying a used bike ?

Tony

Comments

• cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    The frame an fork are excellent. Persoanlly I would strip it down sell of all the bits and put a modern groupset on. Either way you have stiff frame that is great to ride. Buy it.
    http://www.thecycleclinic.co.uk -wheel building and other stuff.
  • nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    Not much wrong with DA 9 speed to be honest. Good shifting and I'm not convinced that a 10/11 speed groupset would offer significant benefit to the OP. Soembody would still pay good money for the groupset assuming that it was in VGC.
  • Toror
    Thanks for the quick replies and good advice.

I'll definitely buy the bike. As this is my first bike I will probably just use it as it is now for this summer and see how it goes. Maybe I can sell some bits and replace them next year if I feel that something needs to be upgraded.

Just have to hope that the frame and fork are still in good condition when I go see the bike for myself !

Thanks again !
  • iron-clover
    iron-clover Posts: 737