Stem and handlebar lifespan?

wishitwasallflat
wishitwasallflat Posts: 2,927
edited April 2014 in Workshop
I have done 10k all-weather miles on my bike - well I say my bike because the only original components left are the stem and handlebars. It is (was?) a 2011 Specialized Sectuer - everything has either worn out or been replaced literally the only things left are stem and handlebars which are alloy. Now for a few reasons:

several things have been replaced because they broke - thinking especially of original alloy seat post and frame - ,
I am heavy - now 17.5 stone but was over 22 when I started riding this bike,
I ride on rough roads and didn't have much sense (i.e. trying to anticipate and avoid the worst hits) for the first couple of years (3-4 k maybe)

I am wondering if maybe it would be wise to replace stem and bars?

What do you think oh wise ones -
replacement is a wise precaution given the history of other similar components - or -
paranoia, nothing to worry about?

Comments

• jordan_217
    jordan_217 Posts: 2,580
    Should be fine. Have you removed bar tape/cables and inspected the bars? With alloy (I think/imagine) there would possibly be a visual sign of stress and fatigue. Clamping points would be the most obvious places to pay attention to. May also be worth removing forks and checking the steerer too.

Did you actually break the alloy seat post?

If you're unsure then your LBS will be able to advise. If you really are going to be paranoid, especially at the top of a 20% descent then you can get Deda replacement bars and stem for ~£30.
    “Training is like fighting with a gorilla. You don’t stop when you’re tired. You stop when the gorilla is tired.”