A complete beginner - Where to start?

thebda12
thebda12 Posts: 2
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi, I'm completely new to this sort of thing and whilst looking through this forum I have been completely flummoxed by all the information and a bit overwhelmed with it. So, I wanted to ask where should I start? At the moment all I do is cycle to work (about 8 miles overall) a few times a week.

I know I probably seem a bit inexperienced and a bit keen but if you could point me in the direction of books, articles or anything like that for beginners it would be much appreciated. Unlike when I have taken up other things in the past I would actually like to work towards something in the right manner.

Comments

• Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    thebda12 wrote:
    Hi, I'm completely new to this sort of thing and whilst looking through this forum I have been completely flummoxed by all the information and a bit overwhelmed with it. So, I wanted to ask where should I start? At the moment all I do is cycle to work (about 8 miles overall) a few times a week.

I know I probably seem a bit inexperienced and a bit keen but if you could point me in the direction of books, articles or anything like that for beginners it would be much appreciated. Unlike when I have taken up other things in the past I would actually like to work towards something in the right manner.

You've started.

That's the important bit. Us lot chatting about bikes and technical stuff and words and stuff? Meh.

It's all about the bike.
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    However - spend some time here: http://sheldonbrown.com/articles.html
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X