Touring: Pannier options for Specialized Allez 2011?

Finlaz22
Finlaz22 Posts: 169
edited April 2014 in Road general
Hi all,

I'm doing a bit of a tour around the Netherlands, Belgium and then dipping into France to catch the Tour before heading back up - it's about 700 miles total, over 8 days. Load will consist mostly of tent, sleeping bags/mats, food, trangia, spares/mech stuff for the bikes, and spare clothes/toiletries. My friend has already got a trailer which he's planning on towing behind his carbon bike, so it's just down to me whether I decide on panniers or a trailer as well.

I was originally planning to carry the load using a trailer (BOB Yak) but have since thought it worth looking at pannier options, especially as the Allez isn't a touring bike by any means and it was concerning me that the pivotal and compressional forces exerted by a trailer may not be good for rear triangle. :shock:

Thing is, I've never used panniers before and am not sure if my bike is suitable for them. However, I do know P-clips are good for sorting out lack of eyelets for pannier rack fitting problem so it shouldn't be too much of a hassle.

Thanks for reading and if you have any helpful guidance on...
- whether you'd suggest trailer or panniers?
- whether you have certain pannier suggestions/ways of fitting etc.?
- whether you have any experience with this sort of thing and what you recommend / knowledge of whether the trailer would be a bad idea and why? Or if not, why?
... that'd be fab!

Thanks again! :D

Comments

• iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    See my blog, dragging a 2010 Allez across Europe. I'm fairly certain there is a lot of detail on kit but drop me a message if you want to know more.

http://ctoc3.wordpress.com/2013/03/28/a ... d-to-rome/

I think in summary I said go credit card touring, or in your case make your mate tow it all.
  • I have toured on my Allez, I think mine is a 2012, it certainly has the mounts for panniers, maybe your 2011 model doesn't.