hydraulic brake help?

rizzee
rizzee Posts: 15
edited April 2014 in MTB buying advice
hi guys i have a carrera vulcan with hydraulic brakes and im new to these things wish i had vbrakes 2 be honest...anyway my problem is the back brake lever is getting closer and closer to my handle bars and the brake is hardly working at all because there is no pull to it...ive had the bike from new and hardly used it so what is my problem is it a simple adjustment or does it need some fluid any help would be great cheers.also when i bought it the guys from the shop said the brakes wouldnt need any kind of adjusting or servicing for at least a year of use.i also think these brakes suck in the rain with high squeaking noises and again hardly work to slow me down.

Comments

• ej2320
    ej2320 Posts: 1,543
    How far back to the bars are we talking?

With Hydraulic brakes there's generally a bit of give in the lever at the start as this is what gives you modulation and control rather than pulling the lever and the brake just locks the wheel

As the bike is new it will have new pads.. with disc brake pads you have to do about 20 longish stops without locking the wheel (Or just ride round holding the brake on slightly so it gets quite hot) as this will brake the pads in and give them bite

You could also try aligning the caliper http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7I6qlSsGds

As the bike is new I'd be surprised if you needed to bleed them, but if you can't fix it your LBS might need to bleed it
  • rizzee