Moving from a triple to a compact or double

prhymeate
prhymeate Posts: 795
edited May 2014 in Road beginners
Hi,

I've been riding a Triban 3 (53 (was 50)/30/39 and 12-25)for the last 2 years and am looking to upgrade in the near future. I had a bike fit/purchase advice at Cadence Performance in Crystal Palace over the Easter weekend. The fitter recommended that I go for a 53/39 and 11-28 as I never use the 39 on my triple and he felt that with a lighter bike and improved position I would find myself spinning out on a compact.

I'm tempted to go for a 52/36 and 11-32 just to be one the safe side, as it gives me a higher and a lower gear than I currently have. I don't often find myself spinning out on my current setup, but it would be nice to have a higher gear and the last time I used the lowest gear on my triple was in the Alps, so I'd like to have that as an option, which the 11-32 will give me.

I was wondering what others who had moved from a triple to a double had found or if anyone has any other advice before I click buy. Thanks

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    I have both triples and a compact, and I honestly think I get smoother gear changes with the triples. A compact would be okay, but don't go for a standard double if you plan doing any hills.
  • Most people should 'spin out' somewhere between 150 and 200 rpm. On 50x12 your speed at 150rpm will be nearly 50mph. If you're going much faster than that down hills, assuming an aero tuck will probably be more effective.
  • prhymeate
    I imagine 'spinning out' to be a lot lower than 200rpm, I'm definitely not going 50mph downhill anyway.