Used vs new

Conor78
Conor78 Posts: 3
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi
Looking to get a road bike, live in n Ireland so chain reaction is quite close and they seem to have good deals at the moment. I'm 6, 2 budget is 500 would I be better buying new or looking at a used bike from ebay/ Gumtree?

Comments

• nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    500 new sees you buying at base end of market whilst for 500 s/hand you can pick up some good buys. I have just sold a carbon bike with Shimano 105 5700 groupset & new Shimano R501 wheels for that money - all in VGC.

Beware of gumtree - I rarely buy off there but if I do it's always collection. Scams abound on gumtree.
  • Conor78
    Conor78 Posts: 3
    Thanks for that, I'm a total novice in terms of biking but if I had to spend 500 I'd rather pick up a second head bike of better quality!! Thanks
  • northpole
    northpole Posts: 1,499
    Sounds like you've answered your own question. Only reservation I would have in your position is that you'll have a much smaller pool to fish in over in NI than say London. Just needs a bit more patience/ luck to find the right pre-owned deal.

Peter
  • g00se
    g00se Posts: 2,221
    Keep an eye on preloved.co.uk too. It's like a better class of gumtree ;)

Bikeradar classifies forum is good too.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    edited April 2014
    Used v new depends on the quality of the used.

Used wins when you find a good condition bargain in your size that's not stolen and near enough to pick up or buyer willing to package and post.

I have found such a bike once but personally I would do some overtime/miss out on something, up the budget and get a half price £1500 new one.

Can you get one on a cycle to work scheme?
  • 29black
    29black Posts: 24
    You can even pick up an 'as new' or even new because of people not getting into cycling or time commitments or whatnot.