Can someone explain gradients % categories and elevation?

nuggiebok
nuggiebok Posts: 63
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
I'm still a beginner so posting here

I've just started using Strava. I've been an endomondo girl for a few years for running and walking but since starting cycling I've wanted more from my data. I run a windows phone so use a third party app which talks to strava, seems pretty accurate.

As my distances are starting to increase (around the 35+plus miles now) I'm encountering hills. I've enjoyed them even though they have destroyed me. I've conquered each one and not had to stop at the top. Strava has made me really interested in the gradients % and elevation figures, but I don't know what it all means really. Most of my hills seem to be less than 0.7miles long at anywhere between 4-7%. How would this equate to the ratio gradient you see on road signs for example, 1:4?

Thanks

Comments

• nuggiebok
    Does the elevation depend on where you start relative to sea level? So if you start higher up, your elevation figure will be higher? Or is it purely the amount of feet you climbed in that ride?
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,129
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • ManxJ
    ManxJ Posts: 43
    1:4 is just 25%... so out of 100%... Anything like that is pretty much crazy steep. 4-7% gradients are nice little lumps and can be as hard as you wanna make them
  • FJS
    FJS Posts: 4,820
    nuggiebok wrote:
    Does the elevation depend on where you start relative to sea level? So if you start higher up, your elevation figure will be higher? Or is it purely the amount of feet you climbed in that ride?
    The elevation figure in Strava refers to the total amount of climbing you've done in a ride, not related to the elevation of your location relative to sea level. A ride over 2 small hills in Norfolk would give the same Strava elevation total as a ride over 2similar small hills in Nepal.