Boardman Sport MX 2014 vs Cannnondale Quick CX5

r3hxn
r3hxn Posts: 127
edited April 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi Guys,

complete Newbie here, looking to get back into riding after 10 years of not being on a bike :o
Buying a bike through the Cycle2work scheme and narrowed it to 2 , just need some advice.

Intended Use: Local roads, parks, with kids, some forest Trails and maybe some slightly more difficult terrain in Epping forest area, although I wont be initially commuting to work, I want the option open to be able to do so, hence I have narrowed it to a Hybrid bike.. budget - £500 (although can stretch, but thats what I am comfortable at)

It may sound a little petty, but aesthetics did have a large part to play in narrowing it to a

Boardman Sport Mx from halfords

Or

Cannondale Quick CX 5 from Evanscycles

From all the reading I have been able to do, I understand that the Boardman is a better spec and value for the money, (to a newbie like I, the only obvious big spec difference is the brakes on the Boardman are discs).
whilst the Cannondale I may be paying for the Brand name a little, but the Frames are generally better..
I was all fine with the Boardman until a lot of people said halfords suck at supplying bikes and to avoid them, so now I am in 2 minds about which to buy.
I have struggled to find the weight of the Cannondale bike so cannot compare which is lighter.
Any advice would be much appreciated, anyone who knows their specifics who can break down the specs a bit more would be great.

Any thoughts?

Boardman Race mx

Cannondale quick cx 5

or

Cannondale quick Cx 2

thanks for reading.

Cannondale Cx2 Hybrid
Scott Scale - Custom mtb - Work in progress

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Halfords can be good or bad like all bike shops. The shop I got my boardman from was very good.
    The Boardman frames are very good quality, cannondale frames are as good but not significantly better to make it worth going for the lower spec.