Titanium frame evaluation please

radanpopovic
radanpopovic Posts: 4
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi!

I need some help about this frame:

http://www.fahrrad.de/fahrradteile/rahm ... 18503.html

http://www.bikester.fi/pyoranosat/runko ... 18503.html

What do you say? Is it worh that money? Is it a bargain? It is very important for me to make correct decision because 599 euors for frame is way more that i can afford,but i would stretch if it is a good deal. Thanks...

It is my first time building serious bike,and i would like to go with Ti frame for allrounder (touring,city,light offroad).

One more question...it seems like rime brake system is not suported, am i right? It says : "Suspension : 80mm" What does that mean? Is it 80mm travel or something else?

And one more :) ... What do you recomend for (touring,city,light offroad) MTB mechanics or ROAD mechanics?

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Firstly, 599 Euros is very cheap for a titanium frame so it's a good price if it's the right size for you. Info is sketchy, but the gusset under the headtube suggests it's a trekking frame designed fora short-travel suspension fork or a suspension-compensated rigid fork about 470mm long e.g. Salsa CroMoto plus for disc brakes. It has sliding rear drop-outs so can be run single speed or with a hub gear too. Choice of parts is down to you - drop bar or flat bar.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • How bad can it be in terms of build quality? It is a suspiciously low price...Is there any way for me to check that? Some questions to ask the manufacturer?

I have 105 kg... could i have a problem with frame strength? Is it a right choice for heavy rider and occasional additional load(touring)?

I could go 3x cheaper for very nice used alu frame...what do you suggest?
  • hypster
    hypster Posts: 1,229