newbie road cyclist with lands end to jog on the agenda!

mr-tino
mr-tino Posts: 6
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi all must I first say what a great forum this seems to be..
I'm new to road cycling I have only had my first racer for a few months now. Been doing a 30miler regularly with much discomfort. I bought some padded shorts but still seem to be sore. I have been looking at a few ways to set up the height. Another problem is that my hips seem to ache quite a bit when I've done say 20 miles. Is this due to a poor bike or the set up? My current bike is a Claus butler which was 350new managed to get one 2nd hand for 200...I'm looking to spend up to 600 for a better bike in the future. I have aspirations to one day do the lands end to jog which I know will Be a mammoth ride!

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    There's plenty of online advice regarding saddle height - your painful hips could be due to having it too high, causing you to rock. Also, try and pedal a lower gear at higher cadence - pushing can hurt your hip flexors. It can take years to develop a strong, fluid pedal stroke - keep working at it.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • mr-tino
    Thanks for the reply. I was actually thinking of raising the seat. I will try out one of the set up methods I've seen online. Am I right in thinking that when I'm looking to buy a new bike. My height would dictate which bike is best for me? I'm 5.9ft and 78kg.
  • Tjgoodhew
    Tjgoodhew Posts: 628
    Welcome to the world of road cycling !!

Are you riding with clipless pedals ? If your cleat position is off this may cause the hip pain ?? This was my experience when i first started and once the cleats were positioned properly by my LBS - no more pain.

Your rear end will toughen up over time but getting the saddle at the right height will help this process.