Still sore after 3 years now...

portland_bill
portland_bill Posts: 287
edited May 2014 in Road general
Morning all,

I've been meaning to ask this for months now but keep forgetting to do it.

I've been cycling for three years now and while sometimes I have generally comfortable rides, most of the time I'm still sore from sides of the pads in my shorts. I have three different brands of bib shorts and while my backside seems to be ok most of the time, it's usually my groin area that suffers.

Without going into too much detail, it always seems to be the opposite side to whichever side I'm "dressing to" when I pull my shorts on, but the side of the pads tend to ride up my crotch and rub against the skin between my tackle and my leg which either results in me being incredibly sore, or at the very least a damn good stinging when I shower afterwards.

I just kind of hoped that this kind of thing was part of getting used to riding and while I don't claim to ride hundreds of miles religiously every week, I've been riding road bikes for three years now so am wondering if it will ever stop and I'll be able to go for a ride without worrying about what kind of state my undercarriage is going to be in when finished.

Has anyone else managed to solve this problem?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• gubber12345
    gubber12345 Posts: 493
    Dont suffer this but maybe some chamois cream may help.
    Lapierre Aircode 300
    Merida
  • wardieboy
    wardieboy Posts: 230
    Are you performing the 'grab and lift' when donning your shorts? I assume you are not sitting on your pendulums for the ride.

Also have you tried bollock cream? I don't use it generally but will use a little sudocreme for more than 5 hours in the saddle.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,902
    as above, are you using chamois cream? if not, use it

otherwise maybe try a different saddle
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380