Geometry?

funkyg
funkyg Posts: 68
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi guys,
I'm new to road biking. I currently have a mtb but have just ordered my first proper road bike. (Ridley R6 http://www.merlincycles.com/ridley-r6-el-road-bike-61377.html )
I've been browsing many forums while waiting for my cycle scheme voucher to arrive and lots mention the geometry of a bike saying its sporty or racy or relaxed. Can anyone please explain what this means exactly? I'm guessing it's something to do with how low you are on the bike. On my bike it's listed as 'traditional' whatever that means!
GT Avalanche 3.0 Hydro
Ridley R6 EL

Comments

• kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    If you look up reach and stack this will give you an idea. The difference is roughly between a stretched out head down racing biking and a less stretched out more upright bike with less drop from the saddle to the handle bars. There is no right answer , it is just down to personal preference.

If you read up on bike setup this will give you an idea of bike setup options. My road bike is setup with only and inch of drop from saddle to handle bars as I prefer being more upright, others have quite a few inches of drop as they prefer a more head down position.
  • owenlars
    owenlars Posts: 719
    It also determines the relationship between height, wheelbase and things like length of chain and seat stays and hence handling.

For example a longer seat post will put the saddle further from the handlebars than a shorter seat post ( all other things being equal) therefore things like seat and chain stays will be longer and hence probably less stiff and hence more comfortable. The wheelbase will also be longer with less twitchy handling.

In short the geometry determines handling, comfort and stiffness and how you need to design the tubing to achieve it.