buying advice for a complete beginner

donslow
donslow Posts: 69
edited April 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hey all, my first post here so ease be gentle hahaha

I need help with a new bike purchase, any advice/help would be greatly appreciated

Long story short, for as long as I care to remember I have ridden jump bikes, basically where I went, so did my bike, commuting, trails, street riding/parks off road and cross country/long distances

Recently had my bike stolen so consulted the insurance who are going to pay out a maximum of £800 as long as I spend it with wheelies.co.uk

Have been toying with he idea of getting a mountain bike but a little unsure as Iddon't know much about them, definitely looking for a hard tail but don't know whether to buy another jump bike or go for a mountain

I recently emailed wheelies asking for advice and two bikes were suggested, giant talon 27.5 and a scott voltage yz10

Still unsure of which way to go with these two bikes I was wondering if you good good people might be able to suggest any others from said website I should be looking at

I'm about 5'6 tall with a roughly, give or take, 27" inside leg

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Links would help - there are a number of different Talon models.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad
    ps I know nothing about jump bikes, but the Scott is nasty, with dire forks.
    I don't do smileys.

Parktools
  • cooldad
    pps Wheelies tend to be a rip off as they discount heavily back to the insurer. See what cash you can get and look at other shops - you can probably do better for much less.
    I don't do smileys.

Parktools
  • donslow
    I did ask about a cash alternative but apparently that's not an option

Links to the bikes that were suggested to me
    http://www.wheelies.co.uk/p66508/Giant- ... -Bike.aspx