Setting Goals

jackbradley
jackbradley Posts: 5
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I've been cycling on and off now since 2009 - I'd still class myself as a beginner because each year I dust off the bike, set out for a few rides, then find myself losing motivation or spending more time running / playing hockey or struggling to fit in time for rides between exams!

This year though, will be my year! I've been out for a couple of rides and I've been starting to think about setting myself targets. However, I have no idea what to aim for?! I'm 25 and I would considered myself above average fitness. I play hockey throughout the winter at a decent level and I compliment that with a moderate amount of running.

Now, I look at people cycling 100 miles in a week and I just can't imagine ever being able to achieve this given the constraints of day to day life. My ultimate aim is to be able to call myself a "good" cyclist and to be able to compete on a level with people my own age. I know most will have an advantage over me because they have probably been cycling since they were in their teens, but I am competitive and used to training hard.

My rides so far have been approximately 10 miles and this has felt like enough (I'm also recovering from a broken collar bone, which I did 4 weeks ago). Should I try to do short rides more often? Or try to increase my mileage per ride? If it is of interest to anyone my ride from today is on Strava here http://www.strava.com/activities/127466097

Apologies for the long first post, hopefully I have covered all the necessary background and my aims. I look forward to your responses and being a member of the forum.

Comments