Absolute beginner

benfaulkner
benfaulkner Posts: 4
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi! I'm looking for some advice as a prospective newbie more than anything else. Sorry to be asking questions on my first post!

I gave up riding at around 13, for health issues, when I used to ride a mountain bike to school every day. Now coming up to my 25th I've just riden a bike for the first time in 11 years, and I've come to the conclusion mountain bikes are NOT for me, it took too much effort and I even felt better on my dad's old Bullet bike from roughly the 70s (first time on a road/race bike).

The reason for all this change is my commute has changed from a 13 mile journey across some of the most dangerous roads in the area to a 2 or so mile commute mostly on cycle paths. My job has also changed from a long day of running around to a long day of sitting down (gaining 2 belt buckles in 3 weeks!). :oops:

My issue now is I have no idea how to get measurements, a quick google search found no bike clubs in my area, and all the techno babble is confusing me, at first look a second hand Carrera Virtuoso seems a good idea, as I don't want to spend lots of money if it turns out to be something I don't keep to long term?

There seem to be no real second hand shops around my area for me to actually try the bikes so I think I need measurements first, and I want to know a bit before I get measurements so I know the shop attendant etc isn't talking rubbish.

Did that make sense? Sorry!

Comments

• napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Hi!

It's always best if you can try sitting on a few. DON'T buy just because a bike is on offer.

How tall are you?
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    If the bike is only for a 2 mile commute on cycle paths, almost any bike will do. If commuting in all weathers I would look for a hybrid with mudguards and rack.
  • Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,160